Blog Tours · Reviews

The Grooms Wore White by Charlie Lyndhurst – Review

Today I am reviewing The Grooms Wore White by Charlie Lyndhurst – Big thanks to Charlie for providing me with a copy to review, and of course thanks also to Rachel of Rachels Random Resources for inviting me to be a part of this blog tour!

Blurb

Even wedding planners struggle to get it right…

Jason is the best wedding planner around, known as the Fairy Godfather to the couples whose special days he plans. But coming up against workplace prejudice is taking a toll on his love for his job.

His mother-in-law, Mel, has just discovered her husband has been cheating on her with a younger woman. Nearing fifty, jobless and struggling, she needs to work out who she is aside from a mum and a wife, and get her life back on track.

Meanwhile, up-tight wedding planner Harriet is struggling to find her own true love – if such a thing exists. Between liars, married men, and disaster dates, she thinks she may never find the one. And her outdated attitude toward LGBT marriages make her even more bitter.

When Jason starts Extra Weddings – helping people marry whoever they like, in whatever way they want – he, Mel and Harriet find themselves coming together to help couples make memories to last a lifetime. But can they bridge their gaps, and be a unit when others need them most?

Fans of Casey McQuiston, Lindsey Kelk and Justin Myers are invited to the most heart-warming and extravagant wedding event of 2022.

Review

Where to start with this book? Despite having a couple of darker themes sprinkled through it, this is such an uplifting, feel-good read. Jason and Pete are hands down the cutest couple ever, their love for each other is clear for all to see, not to mention their unwavering support for each other through all the trials and tribulations of life.

The story focuses on the separate, but slowly intertwining, lives of Jason, Mel and Harriet. Loved up Jason is struggling to find his place in the world of work, Mel is attempting to restart her life in her late 40s, and Harriet… Well, Harriet is desperately seeking her own love, all whilst trying to navigate the other stresses of her life along the way.

The depictions of homophobia within this book made me angry, but only because of how painfully accurate they are. The story gives a really good insight into some of the struggles members of the LGBTQ+ community can face, even touching on lesser covered areas, such as having to ‘come out’ multiple times as they navigate life, instead of the one main ‘coming out’ event and being done with it, which many people still believe.

This book definitely gives us a colourful cast of characters to get to know; some to love, some to hate, and some who grow on you over time. Harriet was definitely one of the latter – I really hated her character to start with, and even deeper into the story she was making some questionable choices, but I feel she really turned a corner and redeemed herself by the end. She grows as a person, her character development portrayed in an accurate manner, too, instead of a magical overnight transformation!

Of course there’s a lot of wedding talk in this book (It is about wedding planners, after all!) and I just have to take a moment to state my appreciation for Bridget and Olis wedding. I won’t spoil it for future readers, but I thought it sounded fantastic and would have loved to attend! I definitely prefer less traditional weddings, so seeing all the wonderful, unique options that the brides- and grooms-to-be make in this book is lovely to see.

I’m so glad to have discovered this author via the wonderful blog tour world, and I will definitely be keeping an eye out for future releases!

Purchase Links

Amazon
Kobo
Apple Books

About The Author

Charlie Lyndhurst is an award-shortlisted gay romance novelist, writing tutor, ghostwriter, and the Diversity Officer of the Romantic Novelists’ Association. The Grooms Wore White is his first commercial crossover novel.

https://twitter.com/LiamLivings

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s